Dire need to overhaul my office persona!

On the 14th January’11, after a bout of drinking (I’d like to think as being persuaded to drink, rather) multiple tequila shots & thereafter puking a little bit (in the office guest house’s washroom basin, I must hasten to add, though), & being the subject of a few jokes/jibes made at my expense, I returned late in the dead of the night, from an office team gathering, to my home, via the Delhi Metro, wherein I also saw a few sloshed men making a fool of themselves in the bogey (hope I never ever end up like ‘1 of them’),

I made a commitment to do the following, in the next few days, to change the way I’m perceived at my office, and begin my life on a fresh note:

  • I’d sit at the seat allotted to me (in a faraway corner), instead of sitting alongside cramped up with folks who can sometimes turn into some sorta jackasses.
  • I’d laugh aloud lesser no. of times, & less intensely; instead giving a polite smile.  Appear stoic.  Don’t give an impression to people that you laugh off insults hurled at you, just like that.
  • I’d address people with an informal ‘Tu’ instead of a courteous ‘Tum’/’Aap’, to return the favor.
  • I’d not allow people to steamroll over me, or my dignity/self-respect; and give it back when such a transgression takes place.
  • I’d try to become a complete teetotaler, and not even indulge in ‘Social Drinking’, since I’ve realized the hard way that my body constitution ain’t geared up to handle alcoholic stuff.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

